ABOUT THE STATE LIBRARYLocation
Hours / Holidays
R.A. Gray Building
500 South Bronough Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250
(850) 245-6600 Phone
(850) 245-6688 TDD
(800) 955-8771 Florida Relay Service
(850) 245-6651 Reference Fax
(850) 245-6744 Lending Services Fax
Monday-Friday 9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Closed weekends and state holidays.
Library Cards - New borrowers are issued a library card upon presentation of appropriate identification and proof of Florida residency. State agency employees and elected officials may apply for a library card online.
Loan Period/Checkout Limit - Books may be checked out for a period of 28 days. There is no limit to the number of books a patron may check out at one time.
Renewals - Books may be renewed twice, in person, by telephone (245-6680 - Lending Services), or online. Items with outstanding requests will not be renewed.
Overdue Materials - Overdue notices are sent out one week after due date. Borrowers must have returned all overdue items before checking out additional items.
Lost Materials - Lost or damaged books or other materials may be paid for at the Circulation Desk on the second floor.
|Mass Market Paperbacks||$ 6|
|* Additional processing fee per item *||$ 8|
Patrons may choose to purchase a new copy of the lost item (rather than pay the replacement cost listed above) and pay the $8 processing fee.
Please make checks payable to: Florida Department of State.
Inter-library Loan - Inter-library loan services are for state agency employees only. Other patrons should check with their local public library or educational institution for inter-library loan services.
Copies - A photocopier is available for public use. Microfilm and microfiche reader/printers, and Internet-accessible computers are also available. Copies are $0.25 (25 cents) per page.
Mail - Reference requests that require a response to be sent by mail will be $2.00 in addition to copy charges.
Certifications - When a certified copy is requested, the photocopy is marked with a stamp avowing that it is a true and exact copy of an item held at the State Library of Florida. The document is signed and dated by a designated library staff member, and an embossed seal is placed below the signature and date. There is a $8.75 fee for each requested certification (Ch. 15.09, Florida Statutes) in addition to any copy charges.State law requires that all fees for services be collected in advance (see Attorney General Opinion 77-120). Cash, checks, money orders (payable to the Florida Department of State), and credit cards (Visa, MasterCard and Discover) are accepted forms of payment.
Admission - All researchers and visitors are required to check in and out with the Reference staff.
Research - Reference - Materials from the Florida Collection do not circulate, and must be used in the Library.
Use Policies - Pencils, note cards, loose blank papers, ring binders without material in pockets, portable computing devices (laptops, tablets, etc.), cameras, and light wraps such as sweaters or shawls are permitted.
The following items are prohibited:
- Any food or beverage
- Any form of ink or ink pens
- Briefcases, bags, purses
- Envelopes or other containers
- Any books or other materials which might be confused with the holdings of the Florida Collection
ALL MATERIAL BROUGHT INTO THE LIBRARY MAY BE EXAMINED UPON LEAVING
Research - Reference - Reference materials are available for use at the library and may be loaned briefly to state agency staff or on interlibrary loan.
Public Computers - Internet-accessible computers are available for up to one hour's use by individual patrons.