PUBLIC RECORDS MANAGEMENT SEMINAR
April 10, 2013 Tallahassee
April 17, 2013 Lady Lake
May 15, 2013 Orlando
May 17, 2013 Tampa
June 20, 2013 Pensacola
July 16, 2013 Jacksonville
July 19, 2013 Viera
August 13, 2013 Fort Myers
August 22, 2013 Panama City
August 27, 2013 Viera
September 10, 2013 Orlando
September 12, 2013 Pompano Beach
September 18, 2013 Edgewater
September 20, 2013 Fort Pierce
October 17, 2013 Tallahassee
After completion of this seminar attendees will be able to apply records management principles and best practices to ensure their respective records management programs are in compliance with Florida's Public Records Law.
WHO SHOULD ATTEND?
This seminar is recommended for individuals who are responsible for managing and maintaining agency records, including, but not limited to:
- Records Management Liaison Officers (RMLOs)
- Administrative Staff
- Office Managers
- IT Professionals
Space is limited at each seminar site. Please register prior to the date of the class. Registrations are accepted on a first-come, first-served basis. Register Online Now.
The seminar fee is $90.00 per person, and includes the workshop and materials. This fee does not include lunch. Advance payment is required. Payment may be made by credit card (P-card, Visa, MasterCard, and Discover), check, or journal transfer. Call 850.245.6746 to pay by credit card. Please make check payable to Florida Department of State, and send to this contact address.
Certificates of seminar attendance will be provided to all attendees at the conclusion of the class.
A $10.00 handling fee will be charged for all refunds. Requests for refunds must be made in writing and sent to the address listed in the contact information below.
Seminar materials will be emailed to each registrant prior to the class.
Registrants must make their own hotel arrangements.
FOR MORE INFORMATION:
See contact information below.
This seminar is intended to provide records managers, administrative staff, information technology professionals, and managers with an overview of laws and regulations regarding the identification, maintenance, access, and retention of public records for both state and local agencies.
Registration: 8:30 a.m.–9:00 a.m.
Seminar: 9:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.
- Introduction to Records Management
- Public Records Law Requirements
- Records Retention and Disposition Requirements
- Public Records Access Requirements
Lunch: 90 Minutes (on your own)
- Electronic Records
- Seminar Wrap-Up
Records Management Training Section
Bureau of Archives and Records Management
Division of Library and Information Services
Florida Department of State
R.A. Gray Building
500 South Bronough Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0250
Telephone: Tim Few 850.245.6746;
Roger Sockman 850.245.6745